Running For Change

Running for a cause

May Update

Leave a comment

Sorry I haven’t been posting for the past week. It was finals week, so I had lots of grading to get done. On Monday I ran to Erin’s house (about 1.6 miles) and then we walked together. We did a 3.5 mile walk. It was nice to walk with her. We got to catch up and also it was nice to walk around a different part of town than where I usually run. After we got done I ran back home. All in all it was a nice Monday run/walk/run.

I did 3 miles Wednesday morning. For some reason I was pretty tired, probably because I had to give finals all day on Tuesday so it made for an extremely long day. But that’s okay. I got my run in and I spend the week listening to both “The 5th Wave” and “This American Life”, which was all about people getting high. Working at a university I just assume there are students who come to class high or hung over. I’m actually pretty sure that one of my students came to my office high on Tuesday. Anyway, in listening to TAL I started to wonder about how many adults I run into on a daily basis. I’m figuring that there’s at least 1 in every 20 people I see a day who are in an altered state of mind. I just wonder who.

I wasn’t feeling too great later in the week, but I just figured it was allergies. On Friday Barb and I were going to do a morning run, but it didn’t work out so we ended up running in the evening. Jack had a baseball game and he rocked it. He had two hits, which was great. After his game, around 7:20 or so, I went over to Barb’s and we did a 6 mile run. We went out to Horn Field Campus and back. We always run into Horn Field to get water. When we got there a group was using the cabins. they were just setting up their campfire. I was glad that they weren’t all sitting around by the fire at that time. It was a nice run. It was getting dark, but not too dark, and there was a perfect breeze. I think that I will run again later in the evening. The only bad thing was it was difficult to get to sleep.

Saturday morning I went biking with Erin. I probably shouldn’t have gone biking. I had a bit of a cough, but I figured it would all be fine. We did our normal 14.5 mile route south of town. It was nice. Then, Jack had a soccer game. After that, he had batting practice, so Lucy and I dropped him off and did a bit of shopping. I was supposed to go to graduation that evening and then a party, but as the afternoon went on I felt¬†progressively worse. I tool a bit of a nap and was hacking away, so I decided I had to skip graduation and then the party. Chris and the kids went and had a nice time. I stayed in bed.

I am still sick. I have a bad cough and it’s no fun, so I’m not sure when I’ll get to run again. It won’t be until the end of the week, at the earliest. It really bites since I wanted to do a nice long run for Mother’s Day and then I’m supposed to do 12 miles this coming weekend, but my guess is that won’t be happening. Hopefully this cough will go away soon. Until then, I’m not sure what I’ll be able to do. I don’t think I should even do any swimming with this hacking. I have been watching “House of Cards” which I love and is a perfect binge show. I just love that both the Underwood’s are bad news. If one was good and the other evil it wouldn’t be as fabulous. I’ve also been reading “Coming of Age in Mississippi” by Anne Moody. It’s one of the books for my NEH Summer Institute in Jackson, Mississippi where I’ll be headed in June. I’m really enjoying the books and am looking forward to a hot June in Mississippi.

Author: rebekahjbuchanan

Runner, writer, triathlete, researcher, teacher.

Leave a Reply

